How to Get a Medical Card in Arkansas

How To Get A Medical Card In Arkansas

Getting a medical marijuana card in Arkansas can be a simple process. Arkansas has broad patient requirements and all you need is to meet with a doctor and submit the proper forms to the Arkansas Department of Health. Read on for more details about the Arkansas medical marijuana program.

Can I Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas?

Yes! Voters enacted Arkansas’s Medical Marijuana Program in November 2016, which now consists of five cultivators and 33 retail dispensaries to serve over 40,000 medical marijuana patients in the state. 

Can You Possess Medical Marijuana in Arkansas?

Yes, if you are a qualifying patient or caregiver. Medical Marijana card holders in Arkansas are allowed to carry amounts up to 2 ½ ounces (approximately 70 grams, or roughly the equivalent of 20 eighths). 

What is Required to Become a Medical Marijuana Patient?

It is not exceedingly difficult to become a Medical Marijuana patient in Arkansas. Here are the requirements: 

  • Be 18 years of age or older or be a minor patient with parental consent.
  • Be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition.
  • Have the official written certification from a physician.
  • Be an Arkansas resident with proof of residency (AR Driver’s License or AR State ID card).
  • State law prohibits members of the Arkansas National Guard and United States Military from obtaining a registry ID card.

Is There an Age Restriction for Medical Marijuana Patients?

Yes, medical marijuana patients must be 18 years of age to register. If a qualifying patient is under the age of 18, a legal guardian must be licensed as a caregiver to administer the medical cannabis.

What is a Qualifying Medical Condition in Arkansas?

Arkansas allows for a broad spectrum of medical conditions that allow one to become a medical marijuana patient. The following medical conditions are listed by the Arkansas Department of Health:

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus/ acquired immune deficiency syndrome
  • Hepatitis C
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Tourette’s syndrome
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Ulcerative colitis
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Severe arthritis
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Cachexia or wasting syndrome
  • Peripheral neuropathy
  • Intractable pain which is pain that has not responded to ordinary medications, treatment or surgical measures for more than six (6) months
  • Severe nausea
  • Seizures including without limitation those characteristic of epilepsy
  • Severe and persistent muscle spasms including without limitation those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
  • Any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the Department of Health

Patients suffering from medical conditions not listed above may petition the department for consideration of an illness. After a hearing, the department shall approve or deny a petition within one hundred (120) days of submission of the petition. 

How Much Medical Marijuana Am I Legally Allowed?

A qualifying medical marijuana patient or caregiver is allowed 2 ½  ounces (roughly 70 grams) every 14 days. With those restrictions in mind, in the space of one month, a qualifying patient can purchase and possess up to 5 ounces of medical marijuana. 

Steps to Getting a Medical Marijuana Patient Card in Arkansas

There are several documents and requirements necessary to obtain your medical marijuana card in Arkansas. These include:

  • Be 18 years of age or older or be a minor patient with parental consent.
  • Be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition.
  • Have the official written certification from a physician.
  • Be an Arkansas resident with proof of residency. (AR Driver’s License or AR State ID card).
  • State law prohibits members of the Arkansas National Guard and United States Military from obtaining a registry ID card.

What are the Fees Associated with an Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card?

The primary document required to obtain your Arkansas medical marijuana card is the qualifying physician certification. There are many physicians across the state that can fulfill your physician certification. Payment for physician certification can vary from provider to provider, but expect to pay $100 for a certification. There are online services available, such as ArkansasMarijuanaCard.com where you can book your appointment for a certification that costs only $50.

In addition to the cost of the physician certification, there is the $50 state administration fee that is required to obtain your medical marijuana card. 

How Does a Doctor’s Evaluation to Get an Arkansas Medical Card Work?

It is necessary to obtain a Physician Certification for your qualifying condition to obtain your medical marijuana card in Arkansas. In order to do this, it’s not as simple as seeing your general practitioner and getting a certification. There are many organizations across the state that have teams of medical doctors that can certify your qualifying condition for medical marijuana. 

Online sites, like ArkansasMarijuanaCard.com, make booking your appointment for your physician certification as simple as possible. Are you worried about an in-person appointment due to Covid-19? You can alleviate those concerns by booking an online telemedicine appointment to obtain your physician certification. 

As outlined by the Arkansas Department of Health, the medical provider must be a doctor of medicine or osteopathy licensed in the state of Arkansas, have a controlled substances license on file with the DEA, be in good standing to practice medicine in Arkansas, and have a bona fide physician-patient relationship with the patient they are certifying for medical cannabis.

Once receiving your physician certification, you can apply at the Arkansas Department of Health’s website for your medical marijuana card. 

What is My Next Step to Get My Medical Marijuana Card?

After receiving your physician certification, you’re ready to apply online for your medical marijuana card. The following are required when submitting your application:

  • The application form.
  • The completed Physician Written Certification.
  • Photocopy of your Arkansas issued driver’s license or state ID (remember: name and address must match what is listed on your Arkansas driver’s license or ID).
  • The nonrefundable $50 application fee.

Take special care to ensure that all the information you provide is accurate and up-to-date. Patient applications may take up to 10-14 days to process.

A physical card will be mailed automatically to you once your application has been approved.  Cards will not be sent over email.  If you applied online, you can log on to the Arkansas Medical Marijuana System and print a copy of your card.

Additional Information

Once you’ve received your Arkansas medical marijuana card, you can shop at any of these fine dispensaries

Like This??? >>>PLEASE SHARE IT<<<

Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.